Eleven (11) returning Overseas Filipino Workers (OFWs) who arrived in the Port of Cagayan de Oro on 15 April 2020, were assisted by the PMO MO/C’s Port Police Division, the Philippine Coast Guard (PCG),  Philippine National Police (PNP), and the Department of Health (DOH) for their health screening and transport to different quarantine facilities to take their 14-day mandatory quarantine to prevent the spread of the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19).

The personnel of the said agencies implemented the health protocols for the incoming passengers. The OFWs who boarded LCT Lite Ferry 30 from Cebu, were assisted to proceed to the Port’s designated facility for medical check-up upon their arrival. An ambulance was also on standby at the ports. After their health screening, the OFWs/passengers were ferried by the different transport units dispatched by various concerned Local Government Units (LGUs) to the designated isolation facilities in the City and in their respective municipalities or regions.

This activity is in consonance with the Department of Transportation (DOTr)’s establishment of “one-stop shop” in coordination with the Department of Tourism (DOT), Philippine Coast Guard (PCG), Maritime Industry Authority (MARINA), Office for Transportation Security (OTS), Manila International Airport Authority (MIAA), Overseas Workers Welfare Administration (OWWA), Philippine National Police (PNP), and the Bureau of Quarantine (BOQ) aimed at facilitating the repatriated OFWs arriving at the Ninoy Aquino International Airport (NAIA) towards their transport to identified quarantine facilities nationwide. — by IMR Lam