Having been recognized as one of the APEC Port Services Network – Green Port Award System (GPAS) winners this November for the Port of Cagayan de Oro, the Port Management Office of Misamis Oriental/ Cagayan de Oro bagged yet another award for its initiatives for environmental protection and conservation in ports from the Development Academy of the Philippines’ (DAP) 2018 Government Best Practice Recognition (GBPR) on 18 December 2018.

GBPR is one of DAP’s strategies to help public sector organizations to further enhance their quality of service. Through GBPR, DAP recognizes agencies that have successful and validated practices. The Academy believes that “best practices are the building blocks and the solution formula in the attainment of organizational outcomes—relevant policies, quality services and organizational effectiveness.”

This year, DAP aims to reach more agencies to join the GBPR and share their best practices. The PMO MOC,  through the endorsement of the Philippine Ports Authority Top Management, was one of the agencies invited to send an entry to the said award initiative.

The PMO MOC’s entry entitled, “Philippine Ports Authority—Port Management Office of Misamis Oriental/Cagayan de Oro (PMO MOC): Fostering a Green Culture for Port Operations and Management,” highlights its initiatives for environmental protection, conservation, and sustainability through the employment of technology; issuance and compliance with environmental policies and mandates; and inculcating environmental awareness among port stakeholders.

PMO MOC hurdled the two stages of entry screening: documentary requirements for first round, and presentation before the panel of judges for the second.

The entry as successfully qualified for the second and final round of screening, was presented by Port Manager, Isidro V. Butaslac, Jr., together with PMO MOC’s Environmental Specialist Core D. Suan, in Richmonde Hotel, Ortigas Center, Pasig City on 18 December 2018.

The entry was hailed as one of the top five (5) best practices among the 11 entries from various government agencies for 2018. The five (5) winners will receive Best Practice trophies during the awarding ceremony in the first quarter of 2019. — by IMR Lam