Remembering the unity, the spirit of cooperation, as well as the camaraderie fostered through the years that steered the Port Management Office of Misamis Oriental/Cagayan de Oro to become what it is today, the PMO personnel, port users, and stakeholders celebrated the PMO MOC’s 44th Anniversary through a three-day series of activities.

With the theme, “HapPIER sa PIER”, the activities were made more engaging and fun to all port stakeholders. The celebration kicked-off with “Zumba sa Pier” on 10 April 2019, followed by inter-color fun games for darts, table tennis, chess, and volleyball among PMO employees.

As a way of gratitude to the active partners in the port: the security, janitorial and outsourced personnel, and the porters, a Feeding Program and “Operation Tuli” were simultaneously held on 11 April for their children. A total of 75 children participated in the feeding program, while 18 children aged 6 to 12 years old undergone circumcision offered for free in partnership with the Philippine National Police (PNP)- Region 10 Medical Team.

In the afternoon of even date, the employees together with the representatives from various shipping lines, cargohandling operator, and Stella Maris participated in an environmental seminar entitled, “It’s Life as an Ecosystem: Its Good and Services.” Guest speaker, Dr. Hilly Ann R. Quiaoit, the Executive Director of the Cagayan de Oro River Basin Management Council, shared about the different ecosystem services and the initiatives to mitigate environmental degradation.

A Eucharistic Mass was offered by Friday, 12 April, for thanksgiving and gratitude to the Almighty Father for the guidance and blessings bestowed upon the PMO for the past four decades.

The celebration concluded with a short culminating program where employees who have been in the government service for at least 10 years and those who executed exemplary performance in the discharge of their duties were given plaques and certificates of recognition. Four (4) personnel received the Public Service Lifetime Achievement Awards for their dedication to public service for more than 30 years. —IMR Lam